Winner GUO (asdf1)

Darkness 2004-11-03 09:00:00 UTC
Twilight 2004-11-04 09:00:00 UTC
Daylight 2004-11-05 09:00:00 UTC
Finish 2004-11-10 09:00:00 UTC

Moving Furniture

Latest News

Don't miss hearing about the next MATLAB Contest. Sign up for our MATLAB Contest mailing list. Send an e-mail to with subscribe contest-announce in the body.

We've posted a page about our winners, an analysis of the winning code, and an overview of the evolution of the contest.

Congratulations to contest winner Michael Guo! His entry nosed past the competition with less than ten minutes to go. He wins a MATLAB Jacket and some other goodies for his effort. Thanks to everyone who participated, commented, or just checked in regularly to watch.

Some of you have asked about the limit to code size. The column in our MySQL database that stores the M-code is of type text, which is limited of 65535 characters. We had never hit it before, and unfortunately we can't change it now while the contest is running. So this contest has an implicit (and unintended) penalty on code length above that limit.

Timothy Alderson takes home the Tuesday Leap prize for being the contestant who made the biggest single improvement in score. His entry beat the previous leader by a greater margin than any other entry submitted on Tuesday. His prize is a MathWorks calculator and a MATLAB lunch bag. the cyclist, wu zhili, and christian ylamaki also made big jumps.

Niilo Sirola won the Big Sunday Push by making the biggest cumulative improvement in score over the course of Sunday. He's earned himself a MATLAB Toolkit. Other big movers include Jan Langer, christian ylamaki, and Timothy Alderson. You can see the full results on the Statistics page.

Tom Lemke submitted the entry that won the daybreak prize for best score before 5PM EST, winning himself a MATLAB mug. Tom is also a new member of the Hall of Fame. Now that we're in full sunlight, the cooperative competition has begun. The winning code is still largely based on Mike Bindschadler's twilight-winning entry, though there are large chunks grafted in from Stijn Helsen's earlier work. His entry also contains contributions that Jeeter, Andy Mack, and the cyclist made in the previous hour alone. The ball is really rolling now!

Mike Bindschadler won the twilight phase, developing his code completely independently. Mike, a new inductee to the Hall of Fame, will receive a MATLAB Toolkit. Other contestants who were able to break the 100-point barrier are Stijn Helsen, Timothy Alderson, Leendert Combee, Tom Lemke, tuc, and Roman Akulov.

Stijn Helsen is the winner of the darkness phase of the contest. He had to develop his entry without the benefit of any feedback about the actual test suite. We'll send him a MATLAB Toolkit for his efforts. Stijn was the grand prize winner in our Mastermind contest and provided an excellent analysis of the winning entry. The darkness phase also saw impressive submissions from Mike Bindschadler, Roman Akulov, and Andy Mack, all breaking 1000-points.

>> More from the Contest Blog

Top Submissions
Submit Date Rank Title Player Results CPU Time Score
Nov 10 16:51 1 asdf1 GUO 40147 53.0748 40.3993
Nov 10 16:57 2 cs0 plindis 40147 53.2181 40.4029
Nov 10 16:24 3 TLL252 Timothy Alderson 40147 53.2594 40.404
Nov 10 16:18 4 TLL250 Timothy Alderson 40147 53.4425 40.4088
Nov 10 16:30 5 TLL253 Timothy Alderson 40147 53.6173 40.4134

Get notified of important contest announcements by email.